

Port Clinton Yacht Club - Linda Higgins
Port Clinton Yacht Club sits on a large plot of land between the Portage River and Lake Erie, with access to the lake via the river. Historically family-oriented, it offers events, private and public, year-round to members, their families, and guests. Aside from the clubhouse, which has a lounge, it offers a pool, two sand beaches, tennis, shuffleboard, sailing, boating, and a marina, among many other amenities. There is no restaurant, but potlucks and other food-based gather


The Marblehead Mile (Article 17) - Lorrie Halblaub
In this series we are taking an historical look at an area that covers approximately a mile of Main Street in downtown Marblehead. Heading east from the Village limits, we will discover the facts and the stories of how Marblehead became what it is today. [This is #17 in the series] Next to the VFW were two buildings that were combined into one. They are now the home of the Marblehead Soap Company and the Dziak Gallery at 417 W. Main St. The right side of the building was o


THE PORT CLINTON BUGGY COMPANY - Linda Higgins
This Port Clinton firm evidently existed only for a short time, but I’d like to think that these entrepreneurs felt they’d been successful nonetheless. I found very little information about the company, but the history of the buggy itself clarified the reason for the company’s abbreviated existence. The term “buggy” was new in the 18th century. In his Treatise on Carriages (1796), London coach-maker William Fulton first used it to describe a light phaeton or chaise built to


The Marblehead Mile (Article 16) - Lorrie Halblaub
In this series we are taking an historical look at an area that covers approximately a mile of Main Street in downtown Marblehead. Heading east from the Village limits, we will discover the facts and the stories of how Marblehead became what it is today. [This is the 16th article.] The VFW is at 421 Main Street, on the corner of Alexander Pike and Main. In 1891, the land was owned by A. A. Clemons. It was listed as Lot #1 in the Erie View Subdivision, which is now Alexander


Waterworks Park - Linda Higgins
Waterworks Park on Perry Street took its name from the Waterworks building erected there about 1888 to pump water from the Portage River for distribution throughout town. At that time, the superintendent of the “works” and his family lived on the top floor. The building expanded in the early 20th century, becoming a municipal site. The park itself has moved through many layers of planning and change since then. Recent planning has served to enhance public access and, theref


The Marblehead Mile (Article 15) - Lorrie Halblaub
In this series we are taking an historical look at an area that covers approximately a mile of Main Street in downtown Marblehead. Heading east from the Village limits, we will discover the facts and the stories of how Marblehead became what it is today. [This is article #15] There is a new parking lot next to the Village of Marblehead Town Hall. For over 100 years, this spot, 505 West Main Street, was the location of the Mutach’s Market building. The Leon Mutach family


Lakeview Park - Linda Higgins
Lakeview Park, on Perry Street, has much to offer us: beach access, lawn and shade, garden areas, and the amenities—a pavilion, basketball court, picnic areas, a bathhouse/restroom, and the county’s first Flagship Collaborative Play Place—are used by residents and tourists whenever the weather cooperates here on the lake. Private events, such as reunions and birthday parties, are held there, as well as are public events, such as Arts in the Park, held in August every year, an


The Marblehead Mile (Article 14) - Lorrie Halbalub
Town Hall & New Fire Station In this series we are taking an historical look at an area that covers approximately a mile of Main Street in downtown Marblehead. Heading east from the Village limits, we will discover the facts and the stories of how Marblehead became what it is today. [This is article #14 in the series.] Across Main Street from the Kelleys Island Ferry Boat line is the Village of Marblehead Town Hall. Built of limestone in 1912, today it houses on the lower


Veterans Park - Linda Higgins
In 1933 the parcel of land behind the National Guard Armory (now the urgent care facility) was gifted to the city and the American Legion. Originally known as The Upper Market Space where farmers sold their produce, after World War II, it served as a memorial to the 37th Tank Company. At the beginning of the war that company became part of the 192 nd Tank Battalion. The 42 local men, Company C, were sent to train at Fort Knox, Kentucky. 32 of this company were supporting G


The Marblehead Mile (Article 13) - Lorrie Halbalub
In this series we are taking an historical look at an area that covers approximately a mile of Main Street in downtown Marblehead. Heading east from the Village limits, we will discover the facts and the stories of how Marblehead became what it is today. [This is the 13 th article in the series.] After one passes under the quarry’s conveyor belt over Main Street, the next property on the left is #17 the Kelleys Island Ferry Boat Line building, parking lot, and dock. Ferry


